The Jalada Prize

Each of the winners of the inaugural Jalada Prize for Literature received cash prizes and were invited to the 2015 Storymoja Festival in Nairobi. We thank Kwani Trust and Storymoja for their partnership and support.

Jalada continues to offer a warm and welcoming space to all writers. We hope that this award inspires and encourages many voices across the continent to tell their stories with courage and conviction.



Lillian Akampurira Aujo is a Ugandan writer. She’s is a lover of words, and she hopes to move the world with them. Her stories have appeared in Suubi, an online magazine by the African Writers’ Trust, and ‘A memory this Size’ The Caine Prize anthology 2013. Her poems have appeared online in ‘The Revelator’, and Bakwa Magazine. Her poem ‘Soft Tonight’ won The BN Poetry Award in 2009. She is a member of FEMRITE, and some of her work appears there as well.

Read: “Where Pumpkin Leaves Dwell” by Lillian Akampurira Aujo


First Runners-up

Suleiman Agbonkhianmen Buhari is a daytime prosaist and nighttime poet who resides in Lagos, Nigeria, where he is working on his first novel and editing an anthology of poems. He also attended the Farafina writers workshop in 2013 and the Port Harcourt Book festival Writers Group later that year. In 2014, he was shortlisted for the Babaisha Niwe Poetry award and his work has also been published in and other websites and newspapers.

Read: “Discovering Time Travel” By Suleiman Agbonkhianmen Buhari


Second Runners-up

Ivor W. Hartmann is a Zimbabwean writer, editor, publisher, visual artist, and author of Mr. Goop (Vivlia, 2010). He was nominated for the UMA Award (‘Earth Rise’, 2009), awarded The Golden Baobab Prize (‘Mr. Goop’, 2009), finalist for the Yvonne Vera Award (‘A Mouse Amongst Men’, 2011), and selected for The 20 in Twenty: The Best Short Stories of South Africa’s Democracy (A Mouse Amongst Men, July 2014). His writing has appeared in African Writing Magazine, Wordsetc, Munyori Literary Journal, Something Wicked, The Apex Book of World SF V2, Litro, and other publications. He runs the StoryTime micro-press, publisher of the African Roar annual anthologies and AfroSF, and is on the advisory board of Writers International Network Zimbabwe.

Read: “Last Wave” by Ivor W. Hartmann

Okwudili word riot

In the Poetry category, the winner is Okwudili Nebeolisa’s line of poetry: water becomes silk becomes fumes curdling, from the poem Mermaid.

Nebeolisa Okwudili has his works featured or forthcoming in Ambit Magazine, Saraba magazine, Yuan Yang Journal, Kalahari Review, The New Black Magazine, Munyori Literary Journal, and in national dailies. He won 3rd place in the 2011 ASiS international Writing Competition in the poetry category.

Warm congratulations to all the winners.

Longlist for the Inaugural Jalada Prize for Literature

The Inaugural Jalada Prize Announcement

Kwani Logo


[twitter-follow screen_name=’JaladaAfrica’ show_count=’yes’ text_color=’00ccff’]